Raising Pork With Goats Milk

 

 

thumbnail_20170421_075356

Miss Fancy, She is a yearling and only been in the rotation for about three weeks.  She isn’t entirely sure about this milking business, but she’s getting there!

 

I am milking thirteen goats each morning.  That’s what happens when you have goats and they have babies every year and you fall in love with them and have a hard time selling any!  My husband has me completely spoiled and has made everything so handy and easy for me it only takes me about 45 minutes from opening the milk barn door, to clean-up and done.  We get a little over 4 gallons of milk each milking.  After using it myself, selling a couple gallons a week, keeping my kids and our hired hand out at the shop supplied with milk, I still have A LOT left!  What to do, what to do?  Fatten a couple pigs with it of course!

thumbnail_20170423_110649

Boy do they love it!  It’s hard to pour it into their trough because they try to drink it out of the bucket while you are pouring it!   They are about 2 months old right now and other than milk, Mark also feeds them a gallon coffee can full of soaked mix grain, one in the morning and one at night.  We did this last year also and everyone comments how good our pork was.  I don’t know if feeding them milk had anything to do with it or not, I know talking to people and reading, this is what the old-timers did with their excess milk and what was good enough for them is good enough for me!

thumbnail_20170423_110610

Blowing bubbles in milk is fun!

Leave a comment